News kohli overtakes mahela jayawardene to become 5th highest run scorer in odi cricket history


In the dynamic world of cricket, records are broken and milestones are achieved with each passing match. Recently, Indian cricket sensation Virat Kohli has etched his name in the annals of cricket history yet again by surpassing the legendary Mahela Jayawardene to claim the 5th spot in the list of highest run-scorers in One Day International (ODI) cricket. This monumental feat not only signifies Kohli’s exceptional prowess with the bat but also underscores his enduring legacy in the realm of international cricket. Let’s delve deeper into this significant achievement and its implications in the cricketing world.

The Magnitude of Kohli’s Achievement

Virat Kohli’s ascent to the 5th position in the highest run-scorers list in ODI cricket is a testament to his unparalleled consistency and unparalleled batting prowess. With each innings, Kohli has not only dazzled fans with his elegant stroke play but has also amassed runs at a remarkable pace, setting new benchmarks for excellence in modern-day cricket.

Surpassing Cricketing Greats

Mahela Jayawardene, a stalwart of Sri Lankan cricket, held the 5th position in the highest run-scorers list for a considerable period. However, Kohli’s relentless pursuit of excellence has seen him surpassing not only Jayawardene but also other cricketing greats, reaffirming his status as one of the finest batsmen of his generation.

Kohli’s Contribution to Indian Cricket

Virat Kohli’s remarkable achievement is not only a personal milestone but also a source of immense pride for Indian cricket enthusiasts. His consistent run-scoring ability has been instrumental in India’s success in the ODI format, propelling the team to numerous victories on the international stage.

Setting New Goals

As Virat Kohli continues to scale new heights in his illustrious career, the cricketing world eagerly anticipates the records he will shatter and the milestones he will achieve in the days to come. With his insatiable hunger for success and unwavering dedication to the sport, Kohli remains a force to be reckoned with in the world of cricket.

The Legacy of Legends

In surpassing Mahela Jayawardene, Virat Kohli pays homage to the rich legacy of cricketing legends who have left an indelible mark on the sport. His achievement serves as a reminder of the enduring impact of past greats and inspires the next generation of cricketers to strive for greatness.

Celebrating Excellence

As cricket aficionados celebrate Virat Kohli’s monumental achievement, it serves as a poignant reminder of the beauty and allure of the sport. Kohli’s journey from a budding cricketer to one of the most revered figures in international cricket is a testament to the transformative power of dedication, passion, and perseverance.


Virat Kohli’s ascent to the 5th position in the highest run-scorers list in ODI cricket is not merely a statistical milestone but a symbol of his unwavering commitment to excellence. His journey is a testament to the power of talent, hard work, and determination in overcoming obstacles and achieving greatness. As Kohli continues to script his legacy on the canvas of cricketing history, fans around the world eagerly await the next chapter in his remarkable career.


Q1: How many runs has Virat Kohli scored in ODIs to surpass Mahela Jayawardene?
A1: Virat Kohli has scored over [insert number] runs in One Day Internationals to surpass Mahela Jayawardene’s tally and secure the 5th position in the list of highest run-scorers.

Q2: Who holds the record for the highest number of runs in ODI cricket?
A2: The record for the highest number of runs in ODI cricket is held by Sachin Tendulkar, followed by Ricky Ponting, Kumar Sangakkara, and Sanath Jayasuriya.

Q3: What is Mahela Jayawardene’s contribution to cricket?
A3: Mahela Jayawardene is a former Sri Lankan cricketer known for his elegant batting style and exceptional leadership skills. He has made significant contributions to Sri Lankan cricket, including leading the team to World Cup glory in 2014.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button